Bleeding Me

Song of Study:
Metallica – Bleeding Me

Although Metallica’s sound, for many of their fans, has taken a turn for the worse, there are certain songs among their albums “Load” and “Reload” which, if you consider the lyrics and the emotion of the song without comparing it to the original Metallica, you can very well find quite a deep connection to.

So today I am taking a song from Load entitled Bleeding Me.

This songs slow tempo, simple guitar riffs, calm verses, and opened chorus provides a strait forward channel to pay attention to the lyrical focus of the song.

Although the song itself might have a set story behind it, right now I feel like depicting what the song means to me on my own metaphorical but personal level. There are many things this song represents and shows me about myself. It’s a song I can listen to, and easily imagine the simple ideas portrayed from the lyrics, while relating to them on my own level. They seem to make me reflect on myself, what I want out of life, and what mistakes I’ve made in the past (which I like, because I’m big about being aware of my faults so I can improve myself in the future). Songs like this seem to help me evolve my view of my own world and define it through things like cause and effect. I also like this song because the feeling and shape of the music itself (especially through the chorus), delivers the emotion and tone quite powerfully and clearly. Take a listen at the song (below) and tell me what your connection out of it is.

.

.

Listen to “Bleeding Me”
http://killinjoke.com/music/m-bm.mp3″

Lyrics:

I’m digging my way
I’m digging my way to something
I’m digging my way to something better
I’m pushing to stay
I’m pushing to stay with something
I’m pushing to stay with something better, oooh, oooh

I’m sowing the seeds
I’m sowing the seeds I’ve taken
I’m sowing the seeds I take for granted
This thorn in my side
This thorn in my side is from the tree
This thorn in my side is from the tree I’ve planted
It tears me and I bleed, yeah… and I bleed, yeah yeah

Caught under wheels’ roll
I take the leech, I’m bleeding me
Can’t stop to save my soul
I take the leash that’s leading me
I’m bleeding me… oh, uh I can’t take it!
Caught under wheels’ roll
Oh, the bleeding of me, yeah …of me, yeah… the bleeding of me

Caught under wheels’ roll
I take the leech, I’m bleeding me
Can’t stop to save my soul
I take the leash that’s leading me
I’m bleeding me… oh oh, I can’t take it!
Caught under wheels’ roll
Oh, the bleeding of me…
Oh, the bleeding of me

I am the beast that feeds the feast
I am the blood, I am release
Come make me pure, bleed me a cure
I’m caught, I’m caught, I’m caught under

Caught under wheels’ roll
I take that leech, I’m bleeding me
Can’t stop to save my soul
I take the leash that’s leading me
I’m bleeding me… oh,
I can’t take it! I can’t take it, I can’t take it!
Oh,oh the bleeding of me…

I’m digging my way
I’m digging my way to something
I’m digging my way to something better
I’m pushing to stay
I’m pushing to stay with something
I’m pushing to stay with something better
With something better…

“I’m digging my way to something better”
I’ve found myself with this thought more often than I can count. How many of us havn’t been in a condition where your “digging for something better” out of life, out of a person, even out of yourself?

“im sowing the seeds I take for granted”
In my life, I earn things that are good to me and for me. Yet I’ve been guilty myself of “taking it for granted”, and therefore making it of less value to me.

“This thorn in my side is from the tree I planted”
This is just about self explanatory. We all seem to create situations from time to time that end up hurting us in the end. You know how it feels no?

“Caught under wheels’ roll”
As we unfold all the above situations, it contributes to a momentum in our life, potential to spin us out of control. I’ve been there, you’ve probably been there. Do you follow me?

“I take the leash that’s leading me”
Sometimes we have no choice, and sometimes we simply find ourselves being naive.

“I’m bleeding me” To me, its simply the idea that I am not without the contribution to my own demise when I fall from time to time. This song, in my eyes, is a perspective on one’s self, being aware of what you’ve done wrong with yourself to put you in the difficult condition you are in, whether you meant to or not, and whether you had complete fault or even a grain of fault. It all matters in the chain of things.

From your own perspective and experiences, what messages, ideas, and/or emotions do you get from this song? Do you favor it in any personal manner or at all? save save

9 comments so far

  1. Shannon on

    Hey, love the new site. Looks great. From what I’ve heard of this song listening to it- He’s striving for something better. He has a lot of skeletons in his closet that are represented by poisons, which he’s trying to bleed out to “cure” himself…purify. Working as hard as he can and allowing himself to be tortured in ordered to be redeemed for what he’s done, regardless of what happens. So, once he has finished he will feel empty, ready to be fulfilled.

    -shannon

  2. EvilDead on

    THIS WEBSITE LICKSASS I MEAN COMMON IS THIS THE BEST U CAN DO? ARE U RETARTED OR SOMTHING GOD IVE SEEN BETTER WEBSITES DONE BY KIDS U SUCK GIVE UP……..nah this is a ok site good work and i agree with ur friend up there

  3. EvilDead on

    good well done site ill be sure to come back everyday to see anynew updates keep me informed at sendit@hotmail.com have a good day

  4. Ben on

    evildead go suck a choad will u?

    good site bro when will there be another song up to go over?

  5. Shannon on

    That guy scares me.

  6. eliciacw on

    I love this one done on the S & M album. Subscribed… I’ll read any blog that opens with Metallica. 🙂

  7. firerocket on

    I’d love to make a new friend.
    Also, this band scares me. I’m sorry! I’m not much of a metal-person. For some reason, it makes me jump with every guitar strum and every drum beat.
    I know, its pathetic.

  8. p33tal on

    hi thanks for commenting in my just geting started blog.. LOAD/RELOAD is the most emotional album by metallica.. and bleeding me is beautifully made. Im quite agree with what ur personal view of the song. To me bleeding me is a self examination to know what wrongs and whats right that we encounter throughtout our life. Its means Know Ourself. Yeah its hard for us to swallow who we really are,especially when the one deals with our weaknesses.Thats my opinion. Bleeding me is my favourite metallica song in load/reload era.. together with outlaw torn,torn within,fixxxer. 🙂

  9. amc1087 on

    The song is pretty good. But I am still going to stick to old school Metallica. Their albums after “And Justice For All” just lost me. The new album is alright but still not as good. I’m sticking to old school.


Leave a Reply

